Karting Singapore Rental Kart 2010 Series - Race 4

POSTED ON: October 8, 2010


The fourth Karting Singapore rental kart championship event was held on 3 October 2010.

This was to be the last race for the championship series of 2010 following an announcement to competitors on race day that Event 5 would be cancelled in view of the Mykart Endurance race that several of the members would be participating in.

Coming into the event, the 2010 championship had been closely challenged by Cheng You Zhi and Gerald Tan who were both tied on points for 1st place. However, with Gerald Tan not competing in Event 4, the route to a championship win for You Zhi seemed a high possibility. Given that crashing out on either of the two 10 lap races could easily devastate his chances of winning, it was up to You Zhi to ensure that he had to take the battle to the track against the other title challengers.

Sunday evening … at 7.30pm, a clear night sky blessed the event. The event started on time after the preliminary driver briefing in which a new penalty system was introduced to ensure safe but fair competition. In addition, participants also took the time to take turns and handle yellow flag duties at 2 blind corners around the Kartright circuit.

Heat times from most of the participants were very competitive – mostly everyone covered their 10 laps with the 8.00 – 8.30 minute mark. Those who were unlucky enough to spin would find themselves designated towards the rear of the field, for the Finals.

In summary, Event 4 saw the end of You Zhi’s two-race win streak when Ricky Leung crossed the line 3 seconds ahead of You Zhi. Whilst great to see Ricky winning his first race, it is a credit to the statistic that made the win. – (1) second race with KartingSingapore, first podium and first win (2) his fastest lap in Finals of 46.652 was the fastest of the day and of qualifying (3) was actually the lucky 10th person to be in Finals 1 as he had finished 4th in his Heat race (4) due to his grid position, Ricky had to overtake several people in order to win and we know how difficult it is to overtake at Kartright (5) completed race in a record 7 min 58 sec, the first ever to go under 8 mins for a standing start 10 lap race.

Completing the medal tally were Jeffrey Sim in 3rd place, Amran Mohamed in 4th place, Ron Tay in 5th place, Fuji Sartono as Winner of Finals 2 and Kenneth Wong as Winner of Finals 3.

At the championship level, You Zhi did enough to ensure that he took the 2010 KS rental kart championship title with 219 points. Yap Zhan Hao was next with 187 points and in third was Amran Mohamed with 184 points. Charles Teo, the defending champion of 2009, completed his defence in fourth with 164 points.









Comments are closed.